undefined

Alonso: What is your greatest regret?

As I come to terms with marrying off my daughter and losing my son, I have quickly come to regret not having spent more time with my children. As King of Naples, I was often distracted with situations and focused on making decisions that involved my citizens – as a result, I did not spend as much time with Ferdinand and Claribel as I would have liked when they were younger. I miss both of them dearly and regret not being there for them when they needed me.

undefined

Ferdinand: What was your life like before you landed on the island?

It is good to be the prince! Growing up in the palace, I never lacked for anything and my father, the King, always ensured that my sister and I were well taken care of and well educated. My favourite days would include fencing, lunching on roast quail and reading passages from a book of history or romance. Certainly, I used to enjoy courting the beautiful ladies of our kingdom, but my dearest Miranda outshines them all in wit and beauty! And she is of noble blood – what luck…

undefined

Sebastian: What drives you in life? 

I am far from happy with my situation. My brother, the King, pays me very little attention. Instead, he lends his ear to that old fool, Gonzalo! I should be the one to give him counsel! Oh, if I were to sit the throne of Naples, how different things would be. Then all would know me for the ruler I would be and, rightfully, admire me. If I could somehow do away with my brother and his heir, it would all be mine. However, that kind of opportunity never seems to present itself to me…

undefined

Gonzalo: Where do your true loyalties lie?

My loyalties are, of course, entirely with Alonso. He is in a terrible state having just lost his son in the storm – I try to comfort him and jolly him along, but as an elderly counsellor, I have seen many rulers come and go. Surely it cannot be too difficult to create a land of milk and honey? Perhaps this island will be our chance to create a unique commonwealth – even better than the Golden Age.

undefined

Antonia: What do you plan to do next, once you’re off the island? 

As soon as I can leave this wretched island, I plan to return to Milan, summon my dressmaker and command that she create a range of new outfits for me. My richest garments were sunk with the ship, and as Duchess of Milan I have a reputation to maintain. Oh, and several splendid hats – one can never have too many hats. I may have to raise taxes to cover these necessities…

Why do you think the storm happened: just bad luck, or something more sinister at work?

undefined

Adrian: The storm was of such a violent nature as to cast us all – even our King, the noble Alonso – into a ravenous and unbridled sea. Yet at the close we were blessed indeed, surviving the tumult of the night before and finding ourselves on this desert island. Surely a lesson from God to all of us to rein in our ambitions! Scientific analysis of the tempest shows that the zodiac signs of the members of the Milanese court played a critical role in our fate. Further analysis can take place when my astrolabe and my books, all lost in the storm, can be fully replaced…

undefined

Francisco: In faith, when one ventures forth over the sea, the weather is like to be foul or fair. By its own desire, the sea will weigh as it will. When we are in its realm, we should not be puffed, for our human mastery of land here is meaningless. When misfortune knocks, it holds no quarter. Thankfully we survived.

Leave a comment